1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fit and finish assembly on ‘24 Tundra

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2022+)' started by Built2Spill, Mar 11, 2024.

1. Mar 11, 2024 at 11:34 AM
    Built2Spill

Built2Spill [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Mike
    Carlsbad
    Vehicle:
    ‘24 Tundra Limited TRD
    Hi everyone! This is my first time posting, I hope I’m in the right place. I purchased a new ‘24 Tundra Limited TRD a few weeks ago and noticed the tailgate not releasing properly. I took it into service and during the walk around inspection with my advisor, we noticed multiple body panels out of alignment. For example the tailgate has a 3/4”+ gap on the driver’s side and an 1/8” gap on the passenger side. The hood sits below the side body panel on the driver’s side and it rests slightly above the side panel on the passenger side. The front painted trim has a noticeably larger gap exposing the rubber seal and is loose on the driver’s side. The passenger side rear bumper panel corner also protrudes out almost 1/2”. I will upload pics to give everyone a better idea of what is going on but for now my question is has anyone seen this on the 3rd gens? This is my 2nd time owning a Tundra and I’ve owned 8 Tacomas, a Prius and a Camry. I’ve never had such quality control issues before with Toyota and am a little disappointed that I am experiencing this on a $65K vehicle. Other than that I love the truck. Any input/advice is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!
    -Mike

Balzac likes this.
  2. Mar 11, 2024 at 11:44 AM
    cmiles97